Please contact us with any
questions you may have!


Phone: (800) 541-5981

Visit Member companies of the Satellite Broadcasting and Communications Association


--Howard, Murphy-Baran, and LeHew Named SBCA Award Recipients—

NASHVILLE, TN, August 3, 2001 – Dr. H. Taylor Howard, inventor of satellite television technology, Tola Murphy-Baran, senior vice president of Market Development for the National Football League (NFL), and Jeff LeHew, president of Via Satellite, today received awards at the Satellite Broadcasting & Communications Association (SBCA) National Convention and Exposition at the Opryland Hotel.  The awards, entitled the “Arthur C. Clarke Award,” the “SBCA Chairman’s Award,” and the “Gordon D. Main Retailer of the Year Award,” were established by the SBCA in 1993 to recognize individual excellence in the satellite television and communications industry.

“Taylor, Tola, and Jeff have selflessly given their time, energy, and incredible talents to the creation, progress and improvement of satellite services,” said Andy Wright, SBCA acting president.  “They have been instrumental in the success of both the SBCA and the satellite communications industry.”

Dr. H. Taylor Howard was the recipient of the SBCA’s most prestigious award, the Arthur C. Clarke Award, which honors an individual who lends their pioneering and entrepreneurial spirit to the progress of the satellite communications industry.    Dr. Howard is credited with inventing the direct-to-home (DTH) satellite television system, and is both the founding chairman and chairman emeritus for the SBCA.  Howard is also the founder of Chaparral Communications, a company that manufactures parts for satellite dishes; to date, Chaparral has produced over 5 million feed horns.  In addition to Chaparral, Howard holds eight U.S. and several foreign patents in the field of microwave antennas and devices and is an emeritus Professor of Electrical Engineering for Stanford University. 

“It is most appropriate that we are giving Taylor this award on the 25th anniversary of his invention,” said Wright.  “Consumers and our industry owe him a debt of gratitude.”

Tola Murphy-Baran, a former chair of the SBCA’s board of directors, was the recipient of the SBCA Chairman’s Award, which is bestowed upon an individual who has worked diligently to promote both the Association and the satellite industry.  Murphy-Baran, who has spent over 15 years working in the satellite industry, serves as senior vice president of Market Development for the NFL.  Murphy-Baran has held numerous leadership positions within the SBCA, and is recognized as a leader in the satellite communications industry.

Jeff LeHew, the owner and operator of Via Satellite in Front Royal, Virginia, was the recipient of the Gordon D. Main award, which recognizes a satellite retailer who has greatly contributed to the Association and industry.  LeHew serves on the SBCA Board of Directors and is the current chair for the SBCA Retail Council.  LeHew has served on the SBCA Retail Council since 1995 and acted as Vice Chairman of the Council for three years.  LeHew has been a member of the SBCA since 1986.

The Gordon D. Main award is named after the late chairman of the SBCA Retail Council.  Main, who owned a successful satellite retail business in East Lansing, Michigan, and was both an advocate for satellite retailers and a prominent industry leader.

The Arthur C. Clarke Award is named for the science fiction writer and satellite technology visionary, Arthur C. Clarke.  Clarke was the first individual to be honored and agreed to have the award bear his name.

A formal nominating committee, appointed by the SBCA Board of Directors, selected the three award recipients. 

The Satellite Broadcasting and Communications Association of America (SBCA) is the national trade organization representing all segments of the satellite industry.  It is committed to expanding the utilization of satellite technology for the broadcast delivery of video, data and voice services.  The SBCA is composed of DBS and other satellite service providers, programmers, equipment manufacturers, distributors, retailers, encryption vendors, and national and regional distribution companies.